Wayfaring Bootstraps

Life, Love, Art, Smiles, Music and Photos in the pursuit of happiness…

Our inner judge

on April 9, 2012

I have been thinking a lot lately about my inner artist and why she hasn’t come out to play as much in the last 5 or so years. It has brought me to realize at some point in the last 5 years I have been a social robot. Work, family, friends, etc. I have left little room for my creative ability. I used to write and create all the time. I have a sewing machine and loads of fabric that I never use. I have a purse that I started 7 years ago but haven’t finished. Why?! It’s my inner judge telling me I have too many responsibilities to spend any time on my creativity. “I’m not good enough. No one will like what I create. I have so many other things to do.” I used to not care about all that stuff. But somehow that changed. In the few years I’ve been starving for a creative outlet. That is how I started in photography. It helped me capture and release beauty in a way that seemed less overwhelming to me. Taking photos helped my starvation and in turn has fueled my passion to create even more. So cheers to my motivation and musings. I will create wherever I go and with whatever I have. Money, time and approval will not sway me.

Leave a Reply

